Gallery of the Candelabras

Gallery of the Candelabras

2012 – 2016 Restoration, restored by Ohio Member Mrs. Connie Frankino

One of the most famous, well transited and breathtaking areas in the Vatican Museums is the Gallery of the Candelabras. Originally an open-air loggia built in 1761, the long hallway was walled at the end of the 18th century. The Gallery was redecorated by artists Ludovico Seitz, Domenico Torti, Annibale Angelini and students under Leo XIII between 1883 and 1887. The occasion that prompted the work was the commemoration of Leo XIII’s 50th anniversary of priestly ordination.

The restoration work was divided into 4 phases and took 4 years to complete.

Restoration Process Includes:

  • Diagnostic laboratory studies
  • Replacement window coverings/curtains
  • Photographic documentation
  • Water damage clean up
  • Complete restoration & materials
  • Replacement of fixtures and windows
  • Wiring and replacement lighting
  • Publication and presentation of work

  • Phase A: 2 rooms with paintings by Domenico Torti and Ludovico Seitz
  • Phase B: The largest room with paintings by Ludovico Seitz
  • Phase C: 2 rooms with paintings by Annibale Angelini
  • Phase D: 1 rooms with paintings by Annibale Angelini

Details

Details

Supported by Ohio Chapter Member: Mrs. Connie Frankino
Date: 2012-2016
Project Cost: $890,670.00